Aug 13, 2020  
2020-2021 Catalog 
    
2020-2021 Catalog

Academic Calendar 2020 - 2021


The 4-4-1 Calendar 

A unique element in Northland's academic program is its calendar. The summer session is 12 weeks, fall and winter sessions are each 15 weeks, and the May session is 4 weeks in length. The summer session allows for extended time for field experiences and internships. Fall and winter sessions allow time for maturation of ideas in a program of varied courses. The shorter May session provides an opportunity for concentration through seminars, field experiences, travel abroad, independent study, and internships.

Summer Session 2020-21 (12 Weeks)

First day of classes (Monday, 8 am) June 8
Deadline for fall session 2019-20 incomplete grades June 15
Last day to add courses with faculty approval (4 pm) June 17
Last day to drop courses without record (4 pm) June 17
Independence Day (no classes) July 4
Last day to withdraw from courses (4 pm) July 31
Last day of summer term August 28
Final grades due (4 pm) August 31

 

Fall Session 2020-21 (15 Weeks)

Residence halls open for new students (per scheduled arrival) Saturday-Sunday, August 22-23
Residence halls open for returning students (per scheduled arrival) Monday-Wednesday, August 24-26
Last day to add courses online (midnight) Sunday, August 30
Full term & Session 1 classes begin Monday, August 31
Last day to add Session 1 courses with faculty approval (4 pm) Friday, September 4
Last day to drop Session 1 courses without record (4 pm) Friday, September 4
Labor Day - classes held (administrative offices closed) Monday, September 7
Last day to add full-term courses with faculty approval (4 pm) Wednesday, September 9
Last day to drop full-term courses without record (4 pm) Wednesday, September 9
Midterm grades due for Session 1 (4 pm) Wednesday, September 23
Last day to withdraw from Session 1 course (4 pm) Wednesday, September 30
Last day of Session 1 classes Tuesday, October 13
Fall break Wednesday, October 14
Midterm grades due for full-term courses (4 pm) Wednesday, October 14
Session 2 courses begin Thursday, October 15
Last day to add Session 2 courses with faculty approval (4 pm) Monday, October 19
Last day to drop Session 2 courses without record (4 pm) Monday, October 19
Final grades due for Session 1 courses (4 pm) Monday, October 19
Due date for prior winter term incomplete grades Monday, October 19
Last day to withdraw from full-term courses (4 pm) Wednesday, October 28
Registration begins for winter and May sessions Friday, November 9
Midterm grades due for Session 2 (4 pm) Monday, November 9
Last day to withdraw from Session 2 courses (4 pm) Friday, November 13
Due date for May session 2019-20 incomplete grades Monday, November 23
On campus instruction ends Tuesday, November 24
Thanksgiving break begins Wednesday, November 25
Classes resume off campus (online format) Monday, November 30
Last day of full-term & Session 2 classes Wednesday, December 2
Residence halls close for all students (7 pm) Wednesday, December 2
Final grades due for full-term & Session 2 classes (4 pm) Monday, December 7

 

Winter Session 2020-21 (15 Weeks)

Residence halls open for returning students (8 am) January 11
Last day to add courses online January 12
First day of classes (Wednesday, 8 am) January 13
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no classes) January 18
Last day to add courses with faculty approval (4 pm) January 22
Last day to drop courses without record (4 pm) January 22
Due date for summer 2020-21 incomplete grades March 2
Mid-session break begins (8 am) March 6
Mid-session grades due (4 pm) March 12
Classes resume Monday (8 am) March 15
Last day to withdraw from courses (4 pm) March 19
Registration begins for summer and fall sessions 2021-22 March 29
Good Friday (no classes) April 2
Honors Day (no classes noon to 5 pm) April 8
Last day of classes/session April 23
Inter-Session break begins April 24
Final grades due (4 pm) April 26

 

May Session 2020-21 (4 Weeks)

First day of classes (Monday, 8 am) May 3
Last day to add courses with faculty approval (4 pm) May 5
Last day to drop courses without record (4 pm) May 5
Last day to withdraw from courses (4 pm) May 14
Last day of classes/session May 28
Commencement May 29
Residence halls close (12 pm) May 30
Memorial Day May 31
Final grades due (4 pm) June 1